Comparison
Ladder app alternatives: 5 strength apps compared
By Coachh Editorial TeamUpdated 8 min read
The best Ladder alternatives depend on what you need: Future for your own human coach ($199 a month), Fitbod for app-built gym sessions, Hevy Pro with Trainer for the cheapest program ($23.99 a year), Boostcamp for free classic programs, and Coachh for one plan covering lifting, runs, food and habits. Ladder remains strong for team coaching.
Coachh, the app we make, is one of the options below, so we’ve tried hard to keep this page fair: where Ladder or another app is the better pick, we say so. Facts and prices were checked on each company’s own site or App Store listing on October 5, 2026. Prices are US and can change.
What does Ladder do well?
Ladder hands you a coach-written strength workout every day and talks you through it. Its site describes a premium strength training app where members follow complete, coach-designed weekly programs with in-ear audio coaching, video demonstrations and per-movement pacing.
Here’s what stands out on its site and its App Store listing:
- Named coaches and real programs. The listing names 20 programs, each led by a coach, in styles from bodybuilding, push-pull and kettlebell to Pilates strength, yoga strength and HIIT.
- Teams. You join a team, and your coach publishes a new 7-day plan every week. The listing says new plans drop on Sundays at 9 AM local time. There’s team chat and daily coach videos.
- Help during the workout. In-ear coaching, video demos, a built-in timer and an Apple Watch app.
- Flexibility. Programs for home or the gym, and you can modify or swap exercises.
- Progress. The Ladder Journal tracks your training, and Ladder connects to Apple Health and Strava.
- Food logging. Ladder now logs food by photo, typed description or barcode, plus water, body weight and steps (iOS only, per its site).
- Recognition. The listing cites a 2025 Apple App of the Year finalist spot and an Editors’ Choice award.
Who is Ladder for?
Ladder suits someone who wants a human coach to decide the workout, likes that coach’s style, and is motivated by training alongside a team. If you’d rather not build your own routine and you like being told “here’s today,” it’s a very good fit.
Where do people say Ladder falls short?
Mostly, they don’t say it loudly. In our October 2026 read of the 500 most recent US App Store reviews for each of 13 fitness apps, Ladder stood out on the positive side:
- Of 703 five-star mentions of accountability or motivation, 165 were Ladder’s, second only to Future, which uses human coaches.
- Ladder had 100 of the 621 five-star reviews that praised seeing progress.
- Ladder’s happy reviewers often say they like its streaks and badges.
Our research didn’t break out Ladder’s own low-star themes, so we won’t guess at them. Across the training apps in that sample, 38% of low-star reviews were about price, and price is the main trade-off to weigh here too. The rest of this list comes from Ladder’s own pages:
- Price. PRO is $29.99 a month, or $179.99 a year (about $14.99 a month), after a 7-day free trial. Its pricing page lists no free tier. The App Store listing also shows higher PRO+ and ELITE tiers, up to $479.99 a year, that the pricing page doesn’t describe.
- A team plan, not a plan only for you. Your coach writes the week for the team. You can swap moves, but the program isn’t rebuilt around your sleep or your schedule each morning.
- Monthly plan limits. PRO monthly lets you join one team with two team changes a month. The annual plan opens all teams with unlimited changes.
- No Android. Ladder’s site says plainly that there is no Android app. There’s a web app for workouts, team chat and the journal.
- Food logging is iOS-only.
None of these are flaws if they match how you train. They’re just the reasons someone might look elsewhere.
What are the best Ladder alternatives?
The right alternative depends on which part of Ladder you’d miss most: the human coach, the ready-made program, or the price.
Future: a human coach who works only with you
Future pairs you with a human coach who builds your program around your goals, equipment, schedule and injury history, messages you, does video check-ins and adjusts the plan as you go. It’s $50 for the first month, then $199 a month, and Future says you can cancel within 30 days for a full refund. It runs on iPhone and Android, with Apple Watch tracking.
Pick it if you want one-on-one accountability from a person and the budget allows. Our guide to what a personal trainer actually does covers what that level of support is worth.
Fitbod: gym sessions built from your history
Fitbod builds each workout from your equipment and recent training, and its listing says it learns from your edits to its suggestions. It also handles home workouts with no equipment. The listing shows monthly plans at $12.99 and $15.99 and yearly plans at $79.99 and $95.99, with a free trial.
Pick it if you want a fresh session each time without a coach’s voice in your ear.
Hevy with Hevy Trainer: a low-cost log that now writes programs
Hevy is best known as a workout log, but Hevy Trainer, included with Hevy Pro, builds a program from your experience, goals, equipment, training days and session length. It raises the weight once you hit the top of the rep range on all prescribed sets. Hevy Pro is $2.99 a month, $23.99 a year or $74.99 for life, and Hevy is on Android.
Pick it if price matters most and you’re happy without a human coach. We compare it in depth on our Hevy alternatives page.
Boostcamp: classic programs in a free app
Boostcamp puts well-known lifting programs (5/3/1, GZCLP, nSuns, PHUL, PHAT and Reddit PPL) and 130+ coach-designed plans inside a tracker. Its listing says core tracking and the program library are free with no ads. Pro in-app purchases range from $11.99 to $79.99, and the listing doesn’t say which period each covers.
Pick it if you already know the program you want to run and just need it laid out and logged.
Coachh (ours): one coach for training, food and habits
Coachh, the app we make, builds a phased program from your goals and posts today’s plan after a morning check-in. After a rough night or soreness it’s lighter and says why. Tell it “I only have 15 minutes” and you get a 15-minute version with the main lift first. You can swap or ban exercises, and when you beat your rep range the weight goes up next time.
The same chat logs meals from a sentence, a photo or a barcode, and keeps daily habit streaks, where every 7 days in a row earns a save that covers a missed day. It’s $19.99 a month or $119.99 a year, with a 7-day free trial on the yearly plan.
Looking for a Ladder alternative on Android?
Ladder’s site says there is no Android app, only a web app for workouts, team chat and the journal. Of the options above, Future runs on iPhone and Android, and Hevy (including Hevy Trainer) runs on Android, Wear OS watches and the web. Coachh comes to Android in November 2026 with the same features as the iPhone app.
How do the Ladder alternatives compare?
| App | Who writes the plan | Food logging | Android | Free option | Price (US, Oct 5, 2026) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ladder | A human coach, for your team, weekly | Yes (iOS) | No | 7-day free trial | $29.99/mo or $179.99/yr |
| Future | Your own human coach | Not stated | Yes | 30-day refund window | $50 first month, then $199/mo |
| Fitbod | The app, from your history and equipment | Not stated | Not stated | Free trial | $12.99–$15.99/mo; $79.99–$95.99/yr |
| Hevy + Trainer | The app, from your answers (Pro only) | Not stated | Yes | Free log; Trainer needs Pro | $2.99/mo, $23.99/yr, $74.99 lifetime |
| Boostcamp | Published programs you choose | Not stated | Not stated | Free core app | Pro $11.99–$79.99 (periods not stated) |
| Coachh (ours) | The app, from your goals, adjusted daily | Yes | November 2026 | No free tier; 7-day trial on yearly | $19.99/mo or $119.99/yr |
“Not stated” means we couldn’t confirm it on the company’s own pages, not that the feature is missing.
Which Ladder alternative should you pick?
Start from what you actually want help with:
- You want a person who knows your injury history: Future, or a local trainer if you also want hands-on form checks.
- You want app-built gym sessions without the audio-coach format: Fitbod.
- Price matters most: Hevy Pro with Trainer at $23.99 a year, or Boostcamp’s free programs.
- You lift and run, and want food and habits in the same plan: that’s what Coachh is built for. Our guide to hybrid training for beginners shows how a week like that fits together.
When is Ladder the better choice?
Stick with Ladder, rather than Coachh or the others above, if:
- A real coach and a team are what keep you going. Named coaches write each week, with team chat and daily coach videos. Coachh isn’t a person and has no team.
- You want to be talked through every set. In-ear coaching, video demos and per-movement pacing are the core of Ladder.
- You like switching styles. Pilates strength, yoga strength, kettlebell, bodybuilding and HIIT programs sit side by side, and the annual plan lets you change teams as often as you like.
- You want the week to simply arrive. A new plan drops every Sunday, so there’s nothing to set up.
- You’d log food now and then, but the workout comes first. Ladder’s iOS food logging covers photo, typed and barcode entries.
How does Coachh compare with Ladder?
Coachh, the app we make, is $119.99 a year, $60 less than Ladder’s $179.99 annual plan, or $19.99 a month against Ladder’s $29.99. Price aside, the choice comes down to what you want from a coaching app.
Ladder gives you a human coach’s program and a team. Coachh gives you a plan built from your own goals that changes day to day: lighter after a bad night, shorter when you’re short on time, and with runs placed next to your lifting if you add a 5K or 10K goal. It also logs food and keeps habit streaks in the same chat, and works with Apple Health.
The honest limits: Coachh isn’t a person and doesn’t pretend to be one, and it has no team, community or group features. There’s no free tier; the yearly plan starts with a 7-day free trial. It launches on iPhone and Apple Watch on October 27, 2026, with Android in November. If you have pain or an injury, see a doctor or physical therapist before any app.
The bottom line
Ladder is one of the best-known coach-led strength apps, and if team coaching motivates you, it’s worth its price. Look elsewhere if you need Android, a lower price, a coach just for you, or one plan that also covers food, runs and habits. Our six-app stack comparison shows how the costs add up when you use a separate app for each job.
Common questions
Is there a free Ladder alternative?
Boostcamp’s core tracking and program library are free with no ads, and Hevy’s workout log is free, though Hevy Trainer needs Hevy Pro. Ladder itself has a 7-day free trial, and its pricing page says no payment info is collected until the trial ends.
Is Ladder premium worth it?
If you’ll follow a coach’s program most weeks and like the team format, $179.99 a year (about $14.99 a month) is in line with other premium coaching apps. Use the 7-day trial to see whether you stick with a coach’s plan before paying.
Ladder vs Future: what’s the difference?
Ladder gives you a coach’s weekly program shared with a team for $29.99 a month or $179.99 a year. Future pairs you with your own human coach who builds the plan around you and messages you, for $50 the first month and $199 a month after that.
Does Ladder work on Android?
No. Ladder’s site says there is no Android app; it offers a web app for workouts, team chat and the training journal.
Does Ladder track food?
Yes. Ladder’s site says you can log food by photo, typed description or barcode, plus water, body weight and steps, on iOS only.
Sources
- LADDER Strength Training Plans (App Store listing). Apple App Store, Checked 2026-10-05.
- Ladder: strength training app. Ladder Technologies, Inc., Checked 2026-10-05.
- Ladder pricing. Ladder Technologies, Inc., Checked 2026-10-05.
- Future: personal training. Future, Checked 2026-10-05.
- Fitbod: Gym & Fitness Planner (App Store listing). Apple App Store, Checked 2026-10-05.
- Hevy Trainer: workout plan generator. Hevy Studios, Checked 2026-10-05.
- Boostcamp: Workout Tracker (App Store listing). Apple App Store, Checked 2026-10-05.
Keep reading
- ComparisonHevy alternatives: 5 workout log apps comparedRead
- ComparisonOne all-in-one fitness app vs six separate apps: the real costRead
- GuideWhat does a personal trainer actually do? (And how to get that structure for less)Read
- GuideHybrid training for beginners: lifting and running in the same weekRead